Home GRCC Board of Trustees Three elected to GRCC board

Three elected to GRCC board


Three community members were elected to the Grand Rapids Community College Board of Trustees Nov. 8.

Kathleen Bruinsma, David Koetje and Kenyatta Brame ran a campaign together, and in the end it turned out to be a success.

I am grateful to the voters of Kent, Ionia, Barry, Montcalm, Ottawa, and Allegan Counties for this opportunity to serve the College District,” Bruinsma stated in an email. “I’m proud of my hard work on my campaign and will work hard as a trustee. Congratulations to (David) Koetje and Kenyatta Brame on their victories as well.”

Koetje is a current trustee, so will continue in his seat through next year. Bruinsma and Brame will begin their terms in January.

“I’m very excited to have been selected by the community,” Brame said. “I’m committed to the college and its mission and I look forward to work with first of all the new trustees and the current board, administration, faculty, staff and students but also community stakeholders. I look forward to bringing us all together to identify (and) … establish priorities for the college and work toward meeting the college’s mission and its other strategic goals.”

Trustees Richard Verburg and Ellen James served 19 and 25 years, respectively, on the board and will retire at the end of this year.

Kendra Turley contributed to this report. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here