Home News The 2017 NFL Honors award coaches, players

The 2017 NFL Honors award coaches, players


By Caleb Vargas – Collegiate Staff

Matt Ryan left the NFL honors with three awards and Jason Garrett won big with coach of the year. The NFL honors is a night before the Super bowl when both talent and hardwork is celebrated. Players, coaches and teams all together get awarded for their work on the field, as well as their work off the field.

The Walter Payton Man of the Year award is awarded to the player who shows outstanding work in their community, whether it be helping sick children to helping communities bounce back after a terrible storm.

The award was given to two players this year, the following being Eli Manning #10 QB New York Giants (Co-Winner) and Larry Fitzgerald #11 WR Arizona Cardinals (Co-Winner)

Every year a handful of players show off their talent by leading their team to great heights. The player who proved themselves the most this year is awarded with being called three letters, M V P. With 24 percent of the vote Matt Ryan #2 QB Atlanta Falcons (Winner) comes away with the win.

What makes a great coach is that through all criticism of bad time management, play calling, etcetera they still lead their team to victory. The coaches who receive this award may say that this is a team award but at the end of the day it’s the coach who leads the team to championships. Jason Garrett takes home the award after leading the Dallas Cowboys to a 13-3 record.

Other Winners:

AP Defensive Player of the Year

Khalil Mack #52 DE Oakland Raiders

AP Offensive Player of the Year

Matt Ryan #2 QB Atlanta Falcons

Salute to Service Award

Dan Quinn

AP Offensive Rookie of the Year

Dak Prescott #4 QB Oakland Raiders

AP Defensive Rookie Player of the Year

Joey Bosa #99 DE Los Angeles Chargers

Assistant Coach of the Year

Kyle Shanahan

Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Frank Gore #23 RB Indianapolis Colts

AP Comeback Player of the Year

Jordy Nelson #87 WR Green Bay Packers

FedEx Ground player of the Year

Ezekiel Elliott #21 RB Dallas Cowboys

FedEx Air Player of the Year

Matt Ryan #2 QB Atlanta Falcons

Built Ford Tough Offensive Line of the Year

Dallas Cowboys

Castrol EDGE Clutch Performer of the Year

Derek Carr #4 QB Oakland Raiders

NFL.com Fantasy Player of the Year

David Johnson #31 RB Arizona Cardinals

Bridgestone Performance Play of the Year

Buccaneers WR Mike Evans‘ one-handed catch vs. Falcons

Previous articleProtesters stand in solidarity with immigrants, refugees at Grand Rapids airport protest
Next articleLady Gaga performs flashy Super Bowl halftime show


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here