Home Featured News GRCC to host Giants Awards tomorrow

GRCC to host Giants Awards tomorrow


By Jake Goldberg – Collegiate Staff

This year marks the 35th annual ceremony for the Grand Rapids Giant Awards which will be held at at 6 p.m., Saturday Feb. 4. , at the DeVos Place.

“We are so excited to be presenting these awards for its 35th year,” said Chris Arnold, head of the Giants  Awards.“This is the largest award event in West Michigan, commemorating strong African American individuals in our community.”

Each award is named after a “Giant” who has demonstrated the traits that are awarded. This year the nominees for the ceremony are:

  • Henry L. Saverson (Floyd Justice Award)
  • Frederick S. Brown (Walter Coe Public Service Award)
  • TaLawnda Bragg (Eugene Browning Medical Service Award)
  • Veverly Austin (W.W. Plummer Humanitarian Award)
  • Edith Evans Hyde (Ethel Coe Humanities Award)
  • New Life Counseling Services and Si Marsh (Milo Brown Business Award)
  • Daniel Williams (Phyllis Scott Activist Award)
  • Brenda Brame (H.C. Toliver Religious Life Award)
  • Dr. Mattie P. Hampton (Hattie Beverly Education Award)
  • Ken C. Godwin (Martha Reynolds Labor Award)
  • Montford Point Marines (William Glenn Trailblazer Award)
  • And the “Giants Among Us” award is to be announced.

Before the ceremony there will be a banquet taking place. All donations and proceeds to this event will go towards the Milo M. Brown scholarship. As this ceremony not only hands out awards but scholarships for students who demonstrate the traits of a “Giant.” This will be the first year for the “Junior GIANTS,” which will be awarded to students along with the Milo M. Brown scholarship. Recipients for these scholarships are:

  • Megan A. Dunge (Milo M. Brown Scholarship)
  • Martin E. Uchendu (Milo M. Brown Scholarship)
  • Ronny Nyamoga (Milo M. Brown Scholarship)
  • Justice Shoals (Junior GIANTS)
  • Hannibal Spencer (Junior GIANTS)
  • Sydney Nelson (Junior GIANTS)
  • Austin Young (Junior GIANTS)

To nominate someone for next year’s  awards, fill out this nomination form here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here